Wednesday, 5 March 2014

FG sacks four Aviation Agencies Chiefs

FederalGovernment has sacked Chief Executive Officers of four out of the six aviation agencies in the country. Press release by the the SGF office below:

His Excellency, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria has approved the following re-organization in the Ministry of Aviation:
(i) Engr. Saleh Dumona (Director Projects, FAAN) to replace Mr. George Uriesi as Managing-Director of the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN).
(ii)Engr. Ibrahim Abdulsalam (General Manager, Procurements, NAMA) to replace Engr. Nnamdi Udoh as Managing Director of the Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA).
(iii) Capt. Samuel Akinyele Caulcrick (Government Safety Inspector & ICAO Focal Point for Nigeria on line Aircraft Safety Information Systems, OASIS) to replace Capt. (Mrs.) Chinyere Kalu as Rector of the Nigerian College of Aviation Technology (NCAT).
(iv) Capt. Muhktar Usman (Commissioner, Accident Investigation & Prevention Bureau, AIPB) to replace Capt. Fola C. Akinkuotu as Director-General of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) subject to confirmation by the Senate. Engr. Benedict Adeyileka is to act as DG, NCAA pending the confirmation by the Senate.
(v)Dr. Engr. Felix A. Abali (Director Licencing, NCAA) to replace Capt. Muhktar Usman as Commissioner,  Accident Investigation and Prevention Bureau (AIPB).
(vi)Dr. Tony Anuforo retains his position as Director-General of the Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NIMMET).
Sam Nwaobasi
Special Assistant (Media) to the
Secretary to the Government of the Federation.

Jonathan to swear-in 11 new ministers Wednesday

Jonathan to swear-in 11 new ministers Wednesday


The News Agency of Nigeria reported few hours ago that President Goodluck Jonathan will on Wednesday swear-in 11 ministerial nominees that were cleared by the National Assembly.
A statement issued by Reuben Abati, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, on Tuesday in Abuja, said the swearing-in would take place at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa before the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.
Those to be sworn-in are Musiliu Obanikoro (Lagos), Mohammed Wakil (Borno), Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Aminu Wali (Kano) and Akon Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom).
Others are Lawrencia Labaran (Kaduna State), DTamuno Danagogo (Rivers), Asabe Ahmed (Niger), Aliyu Gusau (Zamfara), Boni Haruna (Adamawa) and Khaliru Alhassan (Sokoto State).
The President had on February 21 forwarded names of 12 ministerial nominees to the Senate for clearance, from which 11 were cleared.
Mr. Jonathan dropped four ministers from his cabinet on February 20th to enable them pursue their political and other ambitions.
The dropped ministers were the embattled Minister of Aviation, Stella Oduah, the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godsday Orubebe, the Minister of Police Affairs, Caleb Olubolade and the Minister of State for Finance, Yerima Ngama.
The President had in September 2013 sacked nine ministers.
They include Ruqayyatu Rufai (Education), Ita Ewa (Science and Technology), Olugbenga Ashiru (Foreign Affairs), Hadiza Mailafia (Environment), Shamsudeen Usman (National Planning) and Ama Pepple (Housing, Lands and Urban Development).
Others were the Minister of State for Defence, Olushola Obada, the Minister of State, Agriculture, Bukar Tijani and the Minister of State for Power, Zainab Kuchi.